Home » Membership » New App for the Ipad or Iphone for SharePoint access from Harmon.ie

New App for the Ipad or Iphone for SharePoint access from Harmon.ie

Archives

Twitter Feed

Categories

I tested a New App for the Ipad or Iphone for SharePoint access from Harmon.ie that is now available in iTunes under harmon.ie: SharePoint Mobile Client. It is for the iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch and it is under the category: Business.

I was looking for an easy way to access files in SharePoint from the Ipad and found the SharePoint mobile client, Harmon.ie. This app works with SharePoint Windows authentication or forms based authentication so I did not have to do anything to our environment or the Ipad to use the app other than enter the URL and then choose the authentication mode.  I was able to access our intranet through Windows authentication and then our website using a test member record with forms based authentication.

Security is an important factor in a corporate environment and Harmon.ie does not store documents locally on the mobile device which is a big plus for me with the staff using more personal devices on our corporate intranet.

We have seen a rise in members using the Ipad to access our website which requires a new way of thinking on how members consume information that we are provide through SharePoint. External users (association members) can download the free lite version  to view files uploaded for them in our committee collaboration Form-based Authentication site.  This product will make it easy for any of our members that currently have iPhones and iPads to access reports and files.

I was able to access my SharePoint sites from my IPad quickly without looking at instructions or documentation.  The interface is clean and easy to understand.

The bar across the bottom allows access to the sites, files, updates, previous locations (History) and people.

harmonie picksharmonie

You can check-in, check-out and update documents. It also prompts user save changes to SharePoint.  You can also mark a document and library location as favorites using “breadcrumbs” and view a list of recent visited locations from the bar at the bottom.

I was able to open document types including Excel, Word, PowerPoint and Adobe documents using quick view or quick look.  I was also surprised that I was able to open documents using the SkyDrive app on my IPad  and download using SkyDrive or drop box.

I uploaded pictures and documents from my iPad to SharePoint just by clicking on forward arrow in drop box and the harmonie option came up and allowed me to save files. I saved  e-mail attachments to SharePoint from an open email without any issues.

I am going to be setting up my sites for my members so I am looking forward to the ability to view colleagues’ profiles and contact them via e-mail or phone. This will be a nice addition to our member directory by giving members and staff the ability to find people in SharePoint by entering department, skills, expertise and other keywords.

The other nice feature is that you can see profiles of the colleague who last modified a document and get updates when documents are modified so you can easily contact the person who modified the document with one click.

The Harmon.ie app allows you to scroll through all the SharePoint content on the iPad  and quickly access any documents that you have permission in the document library. The interface for the documents allows you to quickly see all the information about a file including the modification date and user,  version, size and file type. Once you click on the file you can use the send button to email a link or the document or you can just copy the link to use in another document.  You can open the document to view with the Harmon.ie quick viewers or use one of your preinstalled iPad apps that works with the different file types. The files can also be checked out if you want to prevent other users from changing the file while you are working on it.

I have been using the Harmon.ie add in for Outlook which has allowed me to add meta data quickly to multiple files from outlook so I am looking forward to using this app on the iPad for the times that I am out of the office and need to quickly get to a file on the intranet or workspace.

I would definitely recommend downloading this app and trying it out.

1 Comment

  1. enigmaticit says:

    Hi,

    I’ve done a detailed review of this product on my blog here:
    http://chrisjhowell.wordpress.com/2012/05/07/harmon-ie-for-ipad-review/

    Agree that it is a great app!

Leave a Reply

