Home » Computers and Internet » New book ~ Motorola XOOM : The missing manual by Preston Gralla

New book ~ Motorola XOOM : The missing manual by Preston Gralla

Archives

Twitter Feed

Categories

I have been using the XOOM for a few months now and I really like the way it operates.  I own a Droid phone that I preordered almost two years ago so the XOOM was easy to start using.  My corporate email, calendar and contacts sync with exchange and I have vWorkspace from quest connected to terminal server so I can turn it into a microsoft desktop just by logging into the portal.

I put the book Motorola XOOM: The missing manual  by Preston Gralla   into my dropbox and imported it into Aldiko so I could read it on the XOOM and try out the Aldiko reader.  The book is organized into five sections: basics, social, books/media/games, productivity and advanced topics. The book replaces the thin booklet that comes with the XOOM with detailed instructions and pictures of how to use the device. This book helped me find out about features that I missed like where the SD card goes and reminded me that it has Google maps like my phone with turn by turn directions.

This book would be especially helpful for someone using an android device for the first time because it is very detailed with step by step instructions on every standard application.  I would recommend this book to anyone buying a XOOM.

I also have an Ipad2 but I have not used it for anything but watching movies since I got the XOOM. I am not sure yet why I prefer the XOOM but adding the Google plus app has made it even more interesting.  I would like to test a Microsoft tablet next to see how it compares to these devices. Hopefully Nokia will come out with a decent Microsoft phone on Verizon so I can try that next. My Droid phone has a cracked screen and my two year contract is up…

Leave a Reply

